Let Your Yes Be “You Betcha!” And Your No Be “No Way, Jose!”

A couple weeks ago I was sworn into my new job position. I’ve been dreading this for a long time, because Matthew 5:34-37 talks about how you should not swear on anything, and your yes should just be yes, and your no should just be no, and anything beyond yes or no is from the evil one.

So when I found out that the state I live in uses the word “affirm,” instead of “swear,” both for being sworn into office, and being sworn in to give testimony at a hearing or trial, it made me very relieved. (I live in a swing state, in case anyone is wondering).

I was all set to write this post and pretty much end here, then I decided to check with my new friend, Strong’s Lexicon.

Turns out, swear, affirm, whatever…it’s not the original translation. The original translation says not to make any oaths to anyone other than God.

Am I a sinner for working in a career God sent me to, because I had to take an oath of office, and repeatedly take an oath every time I will testify in court? Serious question.

I guess there’s a reason why there is a traditional Jewish prayer that is said on Yom Kippur every year that breaks all the oaths we’ve made over the last year (called “Kol Nidre.”) As believers, we can always pray prayers of deliverance to break off oaths made to anyone other than God. We always strive to come out of agreement with the devil and his schemes.

But here is something else to consider…another oath made to someone other than God is wedding vows. Read that again.

I am going to save my thoughts on what makes you married in the eyes of God for another post, as I don’t want to go off on too much of a tangent here, but consider the words you speak to people, and whether or not you are honoring God with what you promise.